Winners – SABC 2019 Winter Competition

Style 1: Standard American Beer (6 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stRafael AragonCream AleCream AleSABC
2ndBrenton SchoemakerGalaxy-Mosaic American WheatAmerican Wheat Beer
3rdOssie HebartJosh’s Saaz Standard American LagerAmerican LagerSABC

Style 18: Pale American Ale (15 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stLachlan JohnsonApaAmerican Pale AleSABC
2ndBrendan MaceyBucc’s CitraAmerican Pale AleSABC
3rdThomas MichlAgent OrangeAmerican Pale Ale

Style 19: Amber and Brown American Beer (15 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stNick McAuleyBeasty Brown AleAmerican Brown AleSABC
2ndClint FisherBang Common California CommonSABC
3rdClint FisherHow Now Brown Cow American Brown AleSABC

Style 20: American Porter and Stout (13 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stNick McAuleyBallsy Imperial Stout BEST OF SHOWImperial StoutSABC
2ndJohn VanderzalmAmerican StoutAmerican Stout
3rdJames EdwardsPorter American PorterSABC

Style 21: IPA (9 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stJohn VanderzalmAmerican IPAAmerican IPA
2ndBrendan MaceyMillenium Falcon American IPASABC
3rdGus KingstonUpset Temptress IPAAmerican IPASABC

Style 22: Strong American Ale (4 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stBrendan MaceyDitch HopperDouble IPASABC
2ndNick McAuleyKilla Strong Ale American Strong AleSABC
3rdLuke BeardCovfefeAmerican Strong AleSABC

Style 28: American Wild Ale (7 entries)

PlaceBrewerEntry NameStyleClub
1stAli HoldenWet and Wild RodeoBrett Beer
2ndRafael AragonBrettanomyces SaisonMixed Fermentation Sour BeerSABC
3rdLachlan JohnsonAmixedMixed Fermentation Sour BeerSABC

Winners – SABC 2019 Summer Competition

Table 1: Stout (18 entries)

Place Brewer Entry Name Style Club
1st and best of show Dean Smith Ice Cream Sandwich Milkshake Stout
2nd John Van Der Zalm Milkshake Stout Milkshake Stout SABC
3rd Luke Beard Reese’s Pieces Sweet Stout SABC

Table 2: Saison (20 entries)

Place Brewer Entry Name Style Club
1st John Van Der Zalm Lilly Pilly Saison Saison SABC
2nd Samantha Wallwork Lime Saison Saison SABC
3rd Greg Wieder Belgian Saison Saison SABC

Table 3: NEIPA (16 entries)

Place Brewer Entry Name Style Club
1st Rafael Aragon Neipa NEIPA  
2nd Brenton Schoemaker 2 Girls From Ipaneipa NEIPA
3rd Ali Holden Idaho 7 Neipa NEIPA


SABC Club Brewer of the Year competition

Open to all SABC members, brewers who are awarded places at the nominated competitions in all categories will receive points.  The top point scorer after the last competition will be awarded the SABC Brewer Of The Year trophy. SABC competitions now attract more points (see below).

Point scoring competitions
SABC Summer Competition – Triple Points!
SABC BeerBQ informal competition – Double Points!
SABC Winter Competition – Triple Points!
Gawler Show

1st = 3 points.
2nd = 2 points.
3rd = 1 point.

The SABC Brewer of the Year for 2018 is Kieren Vercoe!



Kieren Vercoe 70
Greg Wieder 30
Wolfgang Trenkler 17
Joel Gaskin 14
Gus Kingston 12
John van der Zalm 12
James Edwards 11
Stuart Kirk 11
Alex Kiddy 9
Mark Roberts 9
Luke Beard 9
Gary Waters 9

2018 State Amateur Brewing Show, SA

Club member recognition

John Van der Zalm – Best beer of show

Kieren Vercoe – Best brewer of show

Category places: Michael Handran-Smith, Wolfgang Trenkler, Greg Weider, Matt Kennedy, Clinton Fisher, Joel Gaskin, Neill Gardner, James Edwards, Gary Waters, Stuart Kirk.

Full results [PDF]

South Australian Brewing Club (“SABC”) Competition Rules

  1. Disputes concerning any competition run by the SABC will be determined by the SABC in its sole and absolute discretion.
  2. Any dispute should be addressed to the Competitions Director and SABC committee.
  3. In order to be eligible for any prizes, an entrant must be a current financial member at the time the results are published.
  4. Prior to the judging of entries, the Competitions Director may declare prizes available to any and all entrants.
  5. Prizes offered as are and cannot be exchanged for cash or same financial value.
  6. The Competitions Director may vary the rules applicable to any competition by declaring the variations prior to the commencement of judging.
  7. Prior to the judging of a competition, the Competitions Director may declare all entrants eligible to be awarded prizes.
  8. Entrants must declare any conflict of interest before taking part in the administration or judging of a competition.
  9. All participants in a SABC Competition shall act in good faith at all times.